+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

common law

dj0010

Star Member
Jan 2, 2018
Why not try to get a job offer and an LMIA? May be possible not sure if you are an RN or LPN. Would assume it might be possible especially for an RN.
i am an LPN, here in saskatchewan its hard to get lmia for lpn coz lots of lpns here already even for private institution. plus i work under sask health region they wont spend money for lmia.

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
hello,
I am a student in BC, currently working in saskatchewan as a nurse. my gf a PR is a nurse too. we met in one of the work areas here in sask last year..... and my visa will expire january 31 or 2019. my questions are:

2. does it matter if i didnt apply for pgwp, coz our school is not eligible for pgwp? then proceed with the common law application?

3. After january i cant work as a student anymore. so i will change my status as visitor while waiting for the open work permit. ...
It does not matter to your PR application whether or not you apply for the PGWP.

HOWEVER - just a caution - it sounds like you are assuming you can work until your study permit expires, but this is not necessarily true. If you graduate (or stop studying) before the permit expires, you have to stop working, unless you apply for another work permit. You can remain in Canada until your permit expires, but you have to stop working when you stop being a student, unless you obtain a work permit.

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/work/work-off-campus.html

"If your situation changes and you no longer meet all the requirements, you must stop working off-campus."

"You can work full-time: