+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Common-Law and Canadian Experience Visa

ncnicole

Apr 21, 2010
Hello! I am just starting out on my application for PR, and of course have loads of questions. My biggest concern is that I am applying under the Canadian Experience Class, and would like to include my common-law partner on my application. My partner is American, and I am Australian. We have a few documents to prove our common-law status, but not a very extensive list (we have been living together since Dec. 2008, but have only signed a joint release in February.We recently opened a joint bank account and I included my partner on my tax return this year) My question is- if immigration does not find there to be sufficient evidence of our Common-law relationship, will they turn down the entire application? Or will they still approve my application for PR, and just deny my partner? Any advice is appreciated! Thank you!

Amir Shuval

Mar 26, 2010
Richmond Hill, ON
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
ncnicole said:
Hello! I am just starting out on my application for PR, and of course have loads of questions. My biggest concern is that I am applying under the Canadian Experience Class, and would like to include my common-law partner on my application. My partner is American, and I am Australian. We have a few documents to prove our common-law status, but not a very extensive list (we have been living together since Dec. 2008, but have only signed a joint release in February.We recently opened a joint bank account and I included my partner on my tax return this year) My question is- if immigration does not find there to be sufficient evidence of our Common-law relationship, will they turn down the entire application? Or will they still approve my application for PR, and just deny my partner? Any advice is appreciated! Thank you!
Hello,