+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

CEC vs. PNP? Best option?

AlloyAxeman

Aug 22, 2012
Hi, I am an international graduate with a 3yr post-graduation work permit and am confused about the next steps.

1. Under the Canadian Experience Class (CEC) what role does an employer play in addition to providing with the proof of employment? As in does the employer have to ‘sponsor’ the applicant?

2. If I apply for the Provincial Nominee Program (in whichever Province) can I still apply for the CEC after I’ve worked one year in a skilled position?

I love this country and want to establish my life here by choosing a sure-shot way. That’s why I want to first apply for the PNP(in a province where it takes less than a year to process) and also have the CEC as my back up just in case. Any suggestions are very welcome and would really appreciate any help with the info.

Thanks and have a good one!

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
AlloyAxeman said:
1. Under the Canadian Experience Class (CEC) what role does an employer play in addition to providing with the proof of employment? As in does the employer have to ‘sponsor' the applicant?

No.

2. If I apply for the Provincial Nominee Program (in whichever Province) can I still apply for the CEC after I've worked one year in a skilled position?

Yes.

That's why I want to first apply for the PNP(in a province where it takes less than a year to process)

Good luck with that - unless you meant "less than a year to qualify?" For the processing, it's a 2-stage process, with the Provincial application followed by the Federal application.

If you look at Trackitt, very few have their Federal applications processed within a year.