+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Canada Emergency Response Benefit (COVID-19) & Sponsorship

MattFS218

Apr 2, 2016
I am a new permanent resident (landed fall 2019). I have submitted an application to sponsor my common-law spouse (AOR pending).

I was wondering if I can apply fr the CERB (part of the government's COVID-19) response and still be eligible to sponsor. I believe there are a few questions regarding if the sponsor receives financial support from the government. Does receiving the CERB benefit count in this respect?

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12
I am a new permanent resident (landed fall 2019). I have submitted an application to sponsor my common-law spouse (AOR pending).

I was wondering if I can apply fr the CERB (part of the government's COVID-19) response and still be eligible to sponsor. I believe there are a few questions regarding if the sponsor receives financial support from the government. Does receiving the CERB benefit count in this respect?
CERB is not welfare.

Reactions: MattFS218

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
If you remain unemployed throughout the sponsorship process and have no other savings or job prospects that may be an issue later on especially if your spouse is in a similar position.

MattFS218

Apr 2, 2016
If you remain unemployed throughout the sponsorship process and have no other savings or job prospects that may be an issue later on especially if your spouse is in a similar position.
canuck78,