AOR Received.
11-05-2012
File Transfer...
18-05-2012
Med's Done....
Jan 2012
VISA ISSUED...
COPR 27-07-2012
As a Canadian moving home, I feel Scotia is appaling. I have had to have an account with them since I got student loans back in 1996 and they have never been helpful or useful and now, even though I regulalry made all my payments, never defaulted on the loans (which I could have being aborad) and I have money going into my account, I get fleeced an extortionate amount monthly for 'maintenance', 'accounting' and monthly service charge.

As a student I also had an account and credit arrangment with TD and they were very useful and friendly and helpful. My parents have always banked with Bank of Montreal and CIBC. Dad currently thinks ING is one of the best.

troyporter

Oct 26, 2007
just thought I'd share:

RBC Welcome to Canada: http://www.rbc.com/canada/banking-packages/index.html

Scotia StartRight: http://www.scotiabank.com/cda/content/0,1608,CID12961_LIDen,00.html

TD: http://www.tdcanadatrust.com/newtocanada/index.jsp ... TD didnt outright have a "New Immigrant Package" that I could identify on their website.

IrfanP

Feb 17, 2011
Most of the new immigrants find Banking is done differently in Canada, specially with respect to Charges. I come across a guide from RBC Bank's website which is good read to understand How Banking is done in Canada. This is pretty useful information for new comers. I am sharing the Link below:

http://www.rbc.com/canada/welcometocanada/pdf/understanding-banking-in-canada.pdf

I suggest ALL new commers to opt for any Bank's {be it CIBC, Scotia, RBC, BMO, etc} free first year New Immigrant package {which generally includes basic chequing account + ABM\Debit Card, $ 500-1,000 limit credit card & free\subsidize-Safety Deposit Box} to avoid charge for first year and once they understand Canadian bank they can move there account which-ever bank & product they like.

boltz

Jul 30, 2009
boltz said: