+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Being part-time in summer and PGWP

Sergey18

Jan 10, 2013
Hello,

I am currently a student at York University, Toronto. So far, I've always been full-time. This summer, however, there is only 1 course available, which is relevant to my program. As far as I understand, it is a common opinion on this forum that you should always stay full-time in order to get PGWP.

I called CIC 3 (three!) times and got different answers to my problem every time. Every time the operators were unable to answer my question immediately and kept me waiting for like 10 minutes. ;D
1) The first guy told me they look for 3 years of full-time study in total (I always thought is was 2 years for a 3-year PGWP). That will be 6 full-time semesters. If I take anything part-time in between - they don't care.
2) The second operator told me I can be part-time any time I want and, for the purpose of PGWP, they just look how long your program is. Say, if it is 3 years, you get a 3-year PGWP. She said that if I want to study for 7 years they are fine with it. :eek:
3) The last one said I CANNOT be part time in Fall/Winter, but Summer is PROBABLY an exception from the rule, if it is a "scheduled break" time at my uni. Well, I called the registrars's office at York, and they don't know what a "scheduled break" is.

I suppose, none of the answers I received from CIC are quite correct. The first 2 directly contradict what's on cic.gc.ca.
What do you people think?

Regina

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2006
Beautiful British Columbia
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I think the third one was right. Scheduled break is summer and one week in Fall and Spring. A year of study means usually September 1 to April 30. So I think it does not matter if you take or you do not take courses in Summer as long as you are not missing usual semester in Fall or Winter.