+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Any feasible work permit options for outland spousal sponsorship?

heyhowareyou

Jul 12, 2020
I just figured OWP is only for inland spousal sponsorship (I'm very new to this) and I must do outland because I cannot commit to being physically present in Canada during the application (while I will likely be, it is uncertain, so I cannot risk with inland).

However, I would still want some sort of work permit/visa/program which allows me to work long enough (from the moment I want to work until the PR gets approved which shouldn't be more than 5-6 months according to my rough timeline estimates, assuming PR takes 12 months).

What are my options for getting a (professional) work permit/visa, given that I am currently on a visitor visa and I will have my outland spousal sponsorship PR submitted while I pursue that work permit?

I realize my options will likely be similar to any foreigner willing to work in Canada, but I am wondering if there is any bump given my circumstances and what people in this situation usually do, as I am sure many have found themselves in a similar scenario.

For reference, I am pretty sure I qualify for Global Talent Stream category B jobs for example, but I do not know enough about the program to really consider it a feasible option that I can rely on. It seems the costs and most paperwork fall on the employer, and I do not know how common this is and how many employers are willing to engage in that as opposed to hiring a PR/Citizen instead.
This was just an example and I am open to advice as I admit I do not know much about these things.

Thank you in advance!

k.h.p.

VIP Member
Mar 1, 2019
Canada
Your chances are similar to any foreigner wanting to work in Canada.