+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Am I eligible under CEC? (Canadian experience of 2+ yrs but not in last 3 yrs)

qdil

Nov 23, 2011
I worked in Canada from Nov 2007 to Dec 2009 on a temporary worker status(intra-company transfer). I am a software developer by profession and it falls under the NOC list. My daughter was born a Canadian citizen by birth in Oct 2009. I left Canada in Dec 2009 due to my work contract expiring and had not applied for PR even though I was eligible.

Now I am back to Canada with a one year work permit from Sep 2011 to Sep 2012 and working in the same profession. I would like to apply for PR but I noticed a clause in CEC which states that "apply while working in Canada – or – within one year of leaving your job in Canada". I am now applying after a gap of nearly 2 years.

<1> Would I still be having a strong case in CEC class since I already have over 2 years of "recent", if not "very recent experience" plus I am going to gain more Canadian experience with my new work permit ?
<2> Would it be worthwhile filing my application at Nova Scotia (for basic eligibility check) to see if my application goes through to Buffalo (for further processing) ? - In this case for the worst case scenario, if Nova Scotia rejects, I would get my PR fee refunded.
<3> If it goes past Nova Scotia, would there be a risk of it being rejected in Buffalo due to basic eligibility checks ? - In this case, if Buffalo rejects, I would lose my PR fees.

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
qdil said: