+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Mechanical engineer job opportunities in Canada?

cayisteyen

Nov 7, 2014
Dear all,

I'm a German citizen, currently at the age of 44. I'm a graduated mechanical engineer, specialized on test bed mechanics like drive trains. Currently I'm thinking about applying for the express entry system in one of the first months in 2015.
I did not prepare any documents yet since I'm still in the first research phase about Canada Immigration but meanwhile I found out that I would fulfill the requirements for the FSWP 2014.

The question I have right now is about the Canadian labour market. How do you appraise the job opportunities for a mechanical engineer in the English speaking parts of Canada? Do I have a realistic chance to get a job in my profession in let's say Calgary, Edmonton or Vancouver?

I appreciate all helpful information and advice you can give me. Thank you very much!

Kind regards,
cayisteyen

scooby.tw

Aug 1, 2009
In Canada, most of the position entitled "mechanical engineer" needs you to register the engineering association here.
It means that it is better to have the professional engineer license here.

For Alberta, you can read this website about the application to have the engineer license.
http://www.apega.ca/

hope this helps.

cayisteyen

Nov 7, 2014
Thank you for this hint. As I see, beeing member of APEGA is not a must but increases my chances for a good job in Alberta, correct?

Does anyone know about the general labour market situation in Alberta and British Columbia for mechanical engineers?

Best regards,
cayisteyen

Jalex23

VIP Member
Apr 12, 2013
Calgary
Category........
Visa Office......
CPP-Ottawa
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
05-09-2013
Doc's Request.
09-04-2014
AOR Received.
06-11-2013
Med's Request
05-04-2014
Med's Done....
20-05-2014
Passport Req..
07-07-2014
VISA ISSUED...
14-07-2014
LANDED..........
06-09-2014
cayisteyen said: