+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Canadian PR wants to Marry American H1B Visa Holder - Advice

Tiya

Jul 16, 2004
Hi,

I am a permenent resident of Canada, and am currently a student. My fiance is a H1B visa holder in the US. We want to get married in summer 2006.

Is it better for us to be married in the US or Canada? Our most important goal is that we can be together whether in Canada or USA. Preferably in USA at this stage because he has a good job there.

I know I can sponsor him for Canadian PR status, but can he sponsor me for spouse status in the USA? How long will it take?

Advice anyone?

Tiya

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Re: Canadian PR wants to Marry American H1B Visa Holder - Ad

Hi

Tiya said:
Hi,

I am a permenent resident of Canada, and am currently a student. My fiance is a H1B visa holder in the US. We want to get married in summer 2006.

Is it better for us to be married in the US or Canada? Our most important goal is that we can be together whether in Canada or USA. Preferably in USA at this stage because he has a good job there.

I know I can sponsor him for Canadian PR status, but can he sponsor me for spouse status in the USA? How long will it take?

Advice anyone?

Tiya
1. First of all you have to decide where you want to live. If it is in the US since he is not a Green card holder, you would have to obtain H visa, I believe. You know that if you must fulfil 2 years in every 5 to maintain your PR status?
2. If you wish to sponsor him to Canada after you are married you should read http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/sponsor/index.html
and then http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/applications/menu-outside.html
3. For US visa waiting times see: http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/wait/tempvisitors_wait.php

PMM

bartleys

Dec 28, 2005
Tiya, you can be married either in Canada or U.S.