+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Canadian experience or Canadian education

chonji1226

Star Member
Nov 26, 2016
Hi,

I have worked for an IT company here in Canada for 4 years already on work permit and now as a permanent resident I plan to stay for another year or so. I plan to look for another job within the next 2 years, my college degree is not from Canada but I already have 4 years of Canadian IT experience plus 2 years more probably.

Do you think it will be a problem for me to look for another job and I still have to get a Canadian degree to get a better chance?

emamabd

Champion Member
Jun 22, 2012
Hi,

I have worked for an IT company here in Canada for 4 years already on work permit and now as a permanent resident I plan to stay for another year or so. I plan to look for another job within the next 2 years, my college degree is not from Canada but I already have 4 years of Canadian IT experience plus 2 years more probably.

Do you think it will be a problem for me to look for another job and I still have to get a Canadian degree to get a better chance?
In my opinion what matters is:
1) Your skillset, should always be sharp and up to date with the changing trends in Technology
2) Building a strong professional network, you need to know people who can refer you to jobs, and also tell good stories about you perform..etc
3) Industry certifications

If you have all 3 you should have no issue finding other jobs in future, when it comes to the IT industry Canadian education is probably a "nice to have" not a "must have".

parttimebasement

Star Member
Oct 22, 2018
Canadian degree = Waste of money.
Rather save the loan money and interest into some investment.
Rather look into IT certifications instead of going to a uni.

BC4life

Nov 5, 2015
Toronto, ON
Visa Office......
HKVO
NOC Code......
Nomination.....
06-10-2016
AOR Received.
07-12-2016
IELTS Request
Upfront
Med's Request
Upfront
Med's Done....
19-12-2016
Passport Req..