+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Canadian Citizen to Sponser US Husband

DreamerGurl

Nov 7, 2008
Hi, I'm very new to this whole process... for that matter.. I don't even know where to start! I considered consulting an immigration lawyer, but they're SO expensive... so I thought I"d try here...

My husband and I got married on Nov. 2nd of this year, so we're waiting on our marriage certificate before we begin the application process... bear with me, as I've so many questions I get side tracked...

A) Can he come live with me and still work in the states while we're applying for his immigration stuff (I live in Vancouver, so very near the US border)
B) does he need a visitors visa to live here and work there
C) I will be going on Maternity leave long before the applications are finished.. will that effect my ability to sponsor my husband?
D) Does Maternity leave count as "financial aid" from the gov't thereby nullifying my ability to sponsor him?
E) Should we apply from inside or outside canada.. and if we do in/outside, can he still enter Canada while the application is in progress
I guess that's all my questions for now... it feels like a lot.. cause I don't even know where to start... Thanks for your input in advance!

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
You can find most of your info at http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/sponsor/spouse.asp but

A) He can come "visit" you for up to 6 months. It might be a good idea for him to apply for a Nexus card if he doesn't have one for easy border crossings, see http://www.cbp.gov/xp/cgov/travel/trusted_traveler/nexus_prog/

B) After 6 months, he needs to apply to extend his visit visa, see http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/extend-stay.asp

C) No because you don't need to prove income to sponsor a spouse

D) EI isn't financial aid since you have paid into it but to make sure, call CIC at 1 888 242‑2100, same goes for all your other questions you need to verify.