+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Anyone who decided to change careers or fields?

Savak

Star Member
Jun 2, 2015
I am actually at a cross roads. I had completed my Bachelors and then later did my MBA from the top most business school in Pakistan specializing in Finance. I then proceeded to work in a bank for almost 2 years before my immigration to Canada came through in 2012. While i was a student in Pakistan, i also had the opportunity to internships at a Foreign Pharmaceutical MNC, the Finance department of the major hospital in Karachi and an internship in the top Asset Management company in Pakistan which totalled one year.

I had done a lot of homework prior to coming to Canada and was very well aware that my Pakistani qualifications and work experiences would have no real standing and that i had to acquire a local qualification and a strong, powerful one. At the time because i had already done an MBA before, i was personally less inclined to do another MBA. I was also well aware that Canada's job market for most professions and fields is badly over saturated and that plenty of fresh graduates have difficulty finding jobs in Canada.

I after speaking to a few family members and close friends, thought about pursuing the CPA designation in Canada. I then got in touch with the Institute and was very impressed with their presentations, discussions where they provided all sorts of facts and figures that as an articling student you will earn this much, with 3 years of experience and a designation you will earn this much and with 5 years of experience with the designation you will break into six figures. At the time my thought process was, instead of trying to do another MBA why not just diversify and do accounting.