+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Am I eligible for CEC?

rblack

Jul 24, 2009
Hey there,

I'm 24 from New Zealand and I have had one 12month work permit and am currently on my second 12month work permit.

I got laid off my job and left the country late June for a family matter now I'm going back in August and finish off my Work permit.

Would that qualify me for 2 years if I have been out of work for only 3 months and that was due to the recession?

I have my girlfriend there are we are pretty worried than I wont be allowed to stay, and we aren't going to go the marrige route to get residency!

I was a retail manager for 6 months and was a data entry clerk for 11 months prior to me leaving (both were full time jobs).

Thankyou for any help!
Russ

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
CEC says you need 2 years full time skilled work or the equivalent there of. You should call immigration and ask if you are not sure if you qualify.

I see a problem right away with data entry clerk unless your work permit actually says something other than that because data entry clerk is not a skilled position. If you look at http://www5.hrsdc.gc.ca/NOC/English/NOC/2006/ProfileQuickSearch.aspx?val=1&val1=1422&val65=data+entry+clerk the NOC code is 1422 and the 4 tells you this is a skill level C job so considered semi-skilled. Retail manager at http://www5.hrsdc.gc.ca/NOC/English/NOC/2006/ProfileQuickSearch.aspx?val=0&val1=0621&val65=retail+manager is a skilled position, you see from the NOC code starting with 0.

You need to job where the NOC code either starts with 0 (skill type 0 position) or if it doesn't start with 0, the 2nd digit needs to be 1 (skill level A) or 2 or 3 (both skill level B). Jobs where the NOC code does not start with 0 and the 2nd digit is not 1, 2 or 3 are not considered skilled for immigration purposes.