Cela dépend du programme d’immigration en vertu duquel vous faites votre demande.

Les candidats du programme fédéral des travailleurs qualifiés, du programme fédéral des métiers spécialisés et de la Catégorie de l’Expérience Canadienne doivent créer un profil en ligne dans la mesure où ces programmes sont pris en charge par le système de sélection Entrée Express. Les demandes pour ces programmes sont faites en ligne.

Sous la catégorie du regroupement familial, les demandes doivent être initialement soumises au Centre de Traitement des Demandes (CTD) de Vegreville, en Alberta dans le cadre d’une demande faite à l’intérieur du Canada ou bien au Centre de Traitement des Demandes de Mississauga, en Ontario dans le cadre d’une demande faite à l’extérieur du Canada

Sous les programmes des candidats des provinces, ou si vous prévoyez vous établir dans la province du Québec, vous devez soumettre votre demande auprès de la province dans laquelle vous souhaitez vous établir.

Cela dépend du programme d’immigration en vertu duquel vous faites votre demande.

Sous la catégorie des Travailleurs Qualifiés, votre demande initiale après du Centre de Traitement des Demandes (CTD) de Sydney, en Nouvelle-Ecosse doit inclure les formulaires de demande, une copie de votre page du passeport et les frais gouvernementaux appropriés en dollars canadiens. Si vous êtes au Canada avec un permis de travail ou vous bénéficiez d’une offre d’emploi réservée, vous devrez également inclure une copie de votre permis de travail ou une lettre de votre employeur indiquant que vous serez employé pour une durée indéterminée après réception de votre résidence permanente au Canada. Sinon, vous devez inclure une photocopie de la demande d’avis sur un emploi réservé (AER) de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) à propos de l’offre d'emploi permanent que vous avez reçu d'un employeur canadien. Toutes les demandes doivent inclure les documents justificatifs par rapport à vos état civil, votre scolarité, votre expérience de travail et compétences linguistiques (IELTS et / ou les résultats TEF) ainsi que la preuve des fonds d’établissement suffisants. La preuve selon laquelle vous avez fait une demande pour obtenir un(des) certificat(s) de police devrait également être incluse avec la demande initiale.

Sous la catégorie du regroupement familial, les pièces justificatives incluent habituellement des preuves de l'état civil, les preuves d’authenticité de la relation entre les parties et la capacité soutenir financièrement la personne parrainée.

Sous les programmes des candidats des provinces, ou si vous prévoyez vous établir dans la province du Québec, vous devrez soumettre les formulaires adéquats et les documents en fonction des exigences de la province envisagée.

Sous la Catégorie de l’Expérience Canadienne, les documents doivent inclure les preuves de vos compétences linguistiques (résultats IELTS et/ou TEF), les preuves selon lesquelles vous avez travaillé au Canada et preuves de vos études post-secondaires au Canada, le cas échéant.

Selon toutes catégories confondues, Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada requière les certificats de police de tous les pays où vous avez résidé plus de 6 mois depuis l’âge de 18 ans.

Les bureaux canadiens des visas peuvent, par ailleurs, avoir des exigences spécifiques concernant les pièces justificatives. Il est conseillé de demander l'avis d'experts ou des instructions du bureau des visas à laquelle votre demande sera soumise.

Cela dépend du programme d’immigration en vertu duquel vous faites votre demande et quel bureau d’immigration est en charge de votre dossier.

Sous la catégorie des Travailleurs Qualifiés, tous les documents doivent être soumis avec votre demande en ligne, par le bais du système Entrée Express. Les tests de langue et résultats de l’évaluation des diplômes étrangers (EDE) doivent être soumis à la création du profil en ligne.

Sous la catégorie du regroupement familial, tous les documents dont les Certificats de Police et preuves d’examens médicaux doivent être soumis avec la demande initiale.

Pour les catégories des Entrepreneurs et travailleurs-autonomes, en règle générale vous soumettez seulement un formulaire de demande général accompagné des frais gouvernementaux au bureau canadien d’immigration responsable de votre pays de citoyenneté ou pour le pays dans lequel vous résidez actuellement si vous étiez légalement admis dans ce pays pendant au moins un an. A peu près quatre mois avant l'évaluation de votre demande, vous serez invité à soumettre des documents à l'appui de votre demande par rapport à votre situation et votre expérience de gestion.

Pour la catégorie des Investisseurs, les documents doivent être soumis au bureau canadien d’immigration comptent au moment de la soumission initiale.

Sous les programmes des candidats des provinces, ou si vous prévoyez vous établir dans la province du Québec, vous devrez soumettre les documents avec votre demande initiale en fonction des exigences de la province envisagée.

Sous la Catégorie de l’Expérience Canadienne, tous les documents doivent avec votre demande en ligne par le bais du système Entrée Express. Les tests de langue et résultats de l’évaluation des diplômes étrangers (EDE) doivent être soumis à la création du profil en ligne.

Sauf indication contraire par un bureau canadien d’immigration, toutes les pièces justificatives dans une langue autre que l'anglais ou le français doivent être accompagnées d'une traduction anglaise ou française, faite par un traducteur agréé.

Quel que soit le programme envisagé, une demande de transfert de votre dossier d’un bureau d’immigration à un autre peut être demandée. Le Bureau d’immigration décidera, sur la base de "l'intégrité du programme", si oui ou non il procédera au transfert de votre demande. Dans certaines circonstances, le bureau des visas en charge de votre dossier peut décider de sa propre initiative, de transférer votre dossier à un autre bureau des visas, plus approprié, sans même que vous n’en fassiez la demande.

De nombreux facteurs peuvent affecter les délais de traitement :

  • les délais de traitement spécifiques d’un Bureau d’immigration;
  • le programme en vertu duquel vous faites votre demande;
  • si vous pouvez trouver du travail au Canada ;
  • la façon dont votre demande et les documents justificatifs ont été préparés;
  • si oui ou non vous êtes tenu d'assister à une entrevue personnelle; et,
  • autres circonstances en dehors de votre contrôle.

Il est difficile de trouver une source fiable pour vous fournir une indication précise de combien de temps il faudra pour que vous receviez votre visa. Les délais publiés ne sont pas toujours à jour et sont également approximatifs. Les informations que vous pouvez trouver sur les forums de discussion sont encore moins fiables. Soyez vigilants avec ceux qui prétendent pouvoir obtenir un visa de résidence permanente canadienne plus rapide; ce n’est pas vrai.

Il s’agit de la date à laquelle le bureau canadien des visas reçoit les formulaires de demande et le paiement des frais de traitement. La Cour fédérale du Canada a déterminé que cette date détermine la date à laquelle certains facteurs de sélection doivent être évalués.

Vous pouvez inclure votre conjoint et vos enfants à charge dans votre demande. Dans le cadre de votre demande, un enfant à charge est défini comme un enfant de moins de 19 ans qui n’est pas marié ou bien qui a plus de 19 ans s’il dépend, pour l’essentiel, du soutien financier de ses parents du fait qu’il n’est pas en mesure de subvenir à ses besoins en raison d’une déficience mentale ou physique, et ce, depuis avant d’avoir atteint l’âge de 19 ans. Il est important de garder à l'esprit que le Canada reconnaît l’union de partenaires de même sexe.

Vous devez aviser le bureau des visas de tout changement dans la composition de votre famille pendant que votre demande est en cours. Vous devez ajouter à votre conjoint ou enfant à votre demande pour le résidence permanente afin qu'ils puissent vous accompagner au Canada. Si vos composition familiale change après que votre visa a été délivré, vous devez en aviser Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada d'ajouter un conjoint ou un enfant à votre demande, si vous n’êtes pas encore arrivé au Canada.

Frequently asked questions about the Canadian immigration process.

That depends upon the Canadian immigration category under which you are applying.

Candidates for the Federal Skilled Worker Class, Federal Skilled Trades Class and the Canadian Experience Class must first create an online profile, as these programs are processed through the Express Entry immigration selection system. Applications made to these programs are submitted online.

Under the Family Sponsorship category of Canadian immigration, applications should initially be submitted to the Case Processing Centre (CPC) in Mississauga, Ontario.

Under the Provincial Nominee Program category of Canadian immigration, or if you intend to reside in the province of Quebec, you must initially submit an application to the province in which you intend to reside.

That depends upon the category of Canadian Immigration under which you are applying.

Under the Skilled Worker category of Canadian immigration, Express Entry candidates who receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA) are currently required to submit the following supporting documents along with their application:

  • Valid passport
  • Birth certificate
  • Language test results
  • Documentation attesting to work experience
  • Police clearance certificate(s)
  • Upfront medical receipt
  • Photographs of principal applicant and family members

Depending on the program under which a candidate was issued an ITA and the information provided in his or her Express Entry profile, the following documentation may be required:

  • Canadian Education Credential OR Educational Credential Assessment (ECA)
  • Letter of attestation
  • Official transcripts of post-secondary education study program courses taken
  • Secondary education documents
  • Original letter from a Canadian employer indicating an offer of arranged employment
  • Proof of family relationship(s) in Canada
  • Proof of settlement funds
  • Legal documents showing changes in name or date of birth
  • Marriage certificate(s)
  • Signed Statutory Declaration of Common-law Union and documents attesting to cohabitation for a period of at least 12 months
  • Divorce or annulment certificate(s)
  • Death certificate(s) for former spouse(s) or common-law partner(s)
  • Children’s birth certificates
  • Adoption papers
  • Proof of full custody for children
  • Travel documents (non-passport)
  • Certified copy of a certificate of qualification in a skilled trade occupation issued by a Canadian provincial/territorial authority
  • Copies of work contracts and/or pay stubs
  • Documents relating to income taxation

Under the Family Sponsorship category of Canadian immigration, supporting documents usually include evidence of civil status, the genuine nature of the relationship between the parties, and the ability to commit to an undertaking of support.

Under the Provincial Nominee Program of Canadian immigration, or if you are intending to reside in the Province of Quebec, you will have to submit forms and documents as per the province's specific requirements.

Under all categories of Canadian Immigration, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC, formerly CIC) requires police clearance certificates from all countries that you have resided in for more than six months since your 18th birthday.

Canadian Immigration Visa Offices may, in addition, have specific requirements regarding supporting documentation. It is advisable to seek expert guidance or instructions from the Canadian Immigration Visa Office to which your application will be submitted.

This depends upon the category of Canadian immigration under which you are applying and the Canadian Immigration Visa Office to which you are submitting your application. 

Under the Skilled Worker category of Canadian immigration, all documents need to be submitted along with your e-application through the Express Entry system. Language test results and education credentials need to be submitted when you create your online profile.

Under the Family Sponsorship category of Canadian immigration, all supporting documents including Police Clearance Certificates and proof that a medical examination has been undergone by the sponsored person(s) must be submitted with the initial application.

Under the Entrepeneur and Self-Employed Persons business categories of Canadian immigration, as a general rule you submit only a basic application form and Canadian government processing fees to the Canadian Visa Office responsible for your country of citizenship or for the country in which you are currently residing if you were lawfully admitted to that country for at least one year. Approximatley four months prior to the assessment of your application you will be requested to submit supporting documents in relation to your civil status and business management experience. 

Under the Investor business category of Canadian immigration, all supporting documents must be submitted to the appropriate Canadian Immigration Visa Office at the time that the application is initially submitted.

Under the Provincial Nominee Program of Canadian immigration or if you are intending to reside in the Province of Quebec, all supporting documents in relation to the provincial nomination must be submitted with the initial application to the province.  

Under the Canadian Experience Class category of Canadian immigration, all supporting documents must be submitted along with your e-application through the Express Entry system. Language test results are required when you create your online profile.

Unless otherwise indicated by a particular Canadian Immigration Visa Office, all supporting documentation in a language other than English or French must be accompanied by an English or French translation, as translated by a certified translator.

Under any category of Canadian immigration, a request to transfer your application to another Canadian Immigration Visa Office may be made to the Canadian Immigration Visa Office processing your application. The latter will decide, based upon "program integrity", whether or not to transfer your application. In certain circumstances, the Canadian Immigration Visa Office processing your file may decide on its own to transfer your file to a different, more appropriate Canadian Immigration Visa Office, even without a request.

Many factors affect immigration application processing times, including the following:

  • the particular Canadian Immigration Visa Office processing your application;
  • the category of Canadian Immigration under which you apply;
  • whether you can find work in Canada;
  • the way in which your application and supporting documents have been prepared;
  • whether or not you are required to attend a personal interview; and,
  • events beyond your control.

It is difficult to find a reliable source to provide you with an accurate indication of just how long it will take for you to receive your Canada Immigration Visa. Published times are not always up to date. Information you may find on newsgroups and forums is even less trustworthy as there is no accountability for the messages posted on them. Be suspect of anyone who tells you that there is a way to get your Canada Immigration Visa quicker for a fee; it is not true.

A locked-in date is the date on which the Canadian Immigration Visa Office receives completed application forms and proper payment of the processing fees. The Federal Court of Canada has determined the locked-in date to be the date on which certain selection factors must be assessed.

You can include your spouse and your dependent children on your application. For the purposes of your application, a dependent child is defined as a child less than 19 years of age who is not married or in a common-law relationship, or a child over the age of 19 who is currently enrolled in an educational institution and is financially dependent on you. It is important to keep in mind that Canada recognizes same-sex partnerships.

NOTE: The maximum age of a dependent child is expected to increase in Fall 2017, to less than 22 years of age.

You must keep the Canadian Immigration Visa Office informed of any changes in your family composition while your application is in process. You must add your spouse or child to your application for a Canada Immigration (Permanent Resident) Visa so that they can accompany you to Canada. If your family composition changes after your Visa is issued, you must advise Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to add a spouse or child to your application, provided you have not yet landed in Canada.

 

To learn more about your Canadian immigration options, fill out a free online assessment today.

Latest News

  • Latest British Columbia Draw Invites 345 More Workers And Graduates

    In the latest British Columbia immigration draws, which took place on October 11 and 18, a total of 345 workers and international graduates received an invitation to apply for a provincial nomination under the British Columbia Provincial Nominee Program (BC PNP). Among the candidates who received an invitation to apply from the province were those invited under the BC PNP Tech Pilot.

  • October 18 Express Entry Draw Sees a Decrease in Minimum CRS Requirement

    In the latest Express Entry draw, which took place on October 18, 2017, a total of 2,757 candidates with a minimum Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score of 436 were issued an Invitation to Apply (ITA). Therefore, candidates in the Express Entry pool with a score of 436 or above at the time of the draw are now in a position to apply for Canadian permanent resident status.