+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Sponsor spouse while student/low income

akak121212

Nov 7, 2016
Hi everyone,

Can you sponsor a spouse as a student (I'm a PR - Quebec resident with a CSQ) with income lower than the financial threshold Quebec specifies?

I know Quebec has financial standards you need to meet before you can sponsor anyone (http://www.immigration-quebec.gouv.qc.ca/en/immigrate-settle/family-reunification/requirements-sponsor/specific-requirements/financial-standards/index.html). For a single person wishing to sponsor a spouse it's $40k.

While my last full time salary was above this minimum, I recently started a masters program (full time) and so don't have that salary anymore. Once I graduate I could/would/should get a salary of $50-60k but of course, I can't show that right now... And even if I intern somewhere I'll only earn $15-20k over the 4 months of an internship.

Any advice in this situation? Do they take income/resources as black and white or do they look at the whole picture? Anyone been in this situation? (I checked the forums - didn't find much..)

Thank you!

lossada

Sep 5, 2017
Hi everyone,

Can you sponsor a spouse as a student (I'm a PR - Quebec resident with a CSQ) with income lower than the financial threshold Quebec specifies?

I know Quebec has financial standards you need to meet before you can sponsor anyone (http://www.immigration-quebec.gouv.qc.ca/en/immigrate-settle/family-reunification/requirements-sponsor/specific-requirements/financial-standards/index.html). For a single person wishing to sponsor a spouse it's $40k.

While my last full time salary was above this minimum, I recently started a masters program (full time) and so don't have that salary anymore. Once I graduate I could/would/should get a salary of $50-60k but of course, I can't show that right now... And even if I intern somewhere I'll only earn $15-20k over the 4 months of an internship.