+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Salaries in Canada compared to US consultancy salaries

ustocanada49

Star Member
Jan 6, 2017
Hi guys,

I am currently a consultant in the US working for a Desi consultancy on H1-B. If I had a Green Card(US), then I would have made more money than I am currently making since I would have saved the Consultancy's share. For example, If I make 75 k as a consultant through consultancy, perhaps I would have made 90K or even more in the US(it might be even more actually).

If I do move to Canada and find a job there, do you guys think I can expect salaries close to my Green cards salaries in the US, if not very close (I know the salaries in Canada are less than those in the US, in general).

Or, in other words, can I make better salary in Canada than I am making now, as a consultant working for a Desi consultancy in the US?

(currency in US dollars in this post)

DEEPCUR

Champion Member
Apr 12, 2016
I'm in similar boat and in US, but based on my research earning more than US is impossible. Expect 40% pay cut overall after factoring conversion even with a pr status. 40% lesser probably from consultant pay. Over the time you might close the gap to some extent with more Canadian experience but it is impossible to build wealth like we currently build in US.

It is as simple as this.. the lost amount is the premium you pay to live in stability and get Canadian citizenship. If you are not keen on that and just like to build wealth being in visa status, US is lot better place to be in.

Reactions: paneka penalty

Vaibhav.goel85

Star Member
Mar 10, 2017
NOC Code......
Benefits I see for Canada PR:

You get unemployment benefit in Canada
You dont have keep worying about renewals/ promotions/ job changes with Administration
No one can kick you out if you loose job
Once you get Citizenship you can get TN visa

You might be able to get your Citizenship before you get your US GC.