+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Return to Country of Origin

Andrei12345

Sep 20, 2017
Does anyone know if the Canadian government can help pay for a plane ticket back for someone who's visa has expired.

My mom passed away a couple of months ago, and I'm now taking care of my grandmother. Her visa expired 10+ years ago and I'm not in a financial position to sponsor her citizenship application. I think it would be better for her if she were to go back to Russia and stay at a retirement home. Unfortunately, I'm a broke grad student and can't afford a plane ticket for her.

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12
Does anyone know if the Canadian government can help pay for a plane ticket back for someone who's visa has expired.

My mom passed away a couple of months ago, and I'm now taking care of my grandmother. Her visa expired 10+ years ago and I'm not in a financial position to sponsor her citizenship application. I think it would be better for her if she were to go back to Russia and stay at a retirement home. Unfortunately, I'm a broke grad student and can't afford a plane ticket for her.
She should be seeking assistance from her own government.

Rob_TO

VIP Member
Nov 7, 2012
Toronto
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
Seoul, Korea
App. Filed.......
13-07-2012
AOR Received.
18-08-2012
File Transfer...
21-08-2012
Med's Done....
Sent with App
Passport Req..
N/R - Exempt
VISA ISSUED...
30-10-2012
LANDED..........
16-11-2012

The way I understand it, is that if you report your grandmother to CBSA/IRCC that she is here illegally, they may investigate and issue her with a removal order. To enforce this, they will pay the airline bill to deport her from Canada back to Russia.

If she ever wanted to return to Canada in the future, she would then need to repay the costs.