+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Refusal of application to renounce permanent residency

JonnyPep

Feb 25, 2017
I applied for an Electronic Travel Authorization and received a response that I am still a permanent resident of Canada. I went to Canada in 1981 and returned to the UK permanently in 1983. I filled in the required forms in order to renounce my PR status and sent all the required documentation electronically through the IRCC website. I have been notified that a review of my ETA application has revealed that I am a Canadian Permanent Resident and am unable to apply for an ETA. The letter states that as a Canadian PR I will need to present a valid PR card or a PR Travel Document. I haven't got a PR card and have not lived in Canada since 1983.

Can I apply again to the High Commission of Canada in London to renounce my Canadian PR status or do I have to go through the process of applying for a PR travel document, bearing in mind that despite the decision from the IRCC, I do not qualify as a permanent resident not having lived in Canada for over 30 years?

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
When did you send the application to renounce your PR status? These take some time to process. You might just have to wait a bit before applying for an ETA again.

zardoz

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2013
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
16-02-2013
VISA ISSUED...
31-07-2013
LANDED..........
09-11-2013
JonnyPep said: