+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

New Pr w/o job. Do i file taxes?

Heather chaney

Aug 31, 2017
So if i am a new permanent resident and i am not able to find work for the taxation year...Do i still have to file for incometax? i heard it is an pr obligation and if you don't you won't be eligible for citizenship. So anyways...if i do still have to file incometax..what forms do i use? And what do i put on it? And if i dont have to file for it...am i supposed to do anything else or just do nothing? I i truly have never understood incometax (even in USA where im from) please help. Also..what if i am unable to find work? Will that cause trouble with my PR obligations to be eligible for citizenship?

spyfy

Champion Member
May 8, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
26-08-2015
So if i am a new permanent resident and i am not able to find work for the taxation year...Do i still have to file for incometax? i heard it is an pr obligation and if you don't you won't be eligible for citizenship. So anyways...if i do still have to file incometax..what forms do i use? And what do i put on it? And if i dont have to file for it...am i supposed to do anything else or just do nothing? I i truly have never understood incometax (even in USA where im from) please help. Also..what if i am unable to find work? Will that cause trouble with my PR obligations to be eligible for citizenship?
It's not a question if you have to file taxes, you actually want to file taxes. Since you have no income, you will actually GET money when you file your taxes, in particular the GST/HST credit.