+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

ITA - Accept / Decline

Blueeyzz1310

Star Member
Apr 7, 2017
Hello Guys,

I recently re took my IELTS exam to improve my CRS score and I currently have 435 points. I got my invitation today ( Latest draw ) and I am confused whether I should accept it or decline it.

I am in my last year of F-1 visa and I recently got my H1-B picked ( Yet to be approved ) . I don't know the odds of approval as things are getting really weird here in the states and hence, I decide to apply for express entry as my back up plan. As a part of this plan, I took my IELTS, got FBI clearance certificate ( as I was told that I takes time ) and currently in the process of evaluating my academic documents. Now that I got my H1-B picked, I am confused on whether I should continue with my application process or wait till I find out the result of my H1-B and then accept the invitation and take it from there.

Please let me know your thoughts / suggestions

Thank you so very much in advance.

DEEPCUR

Champion Member
Apr 12, 2016
How reputed is your employer who filed H1b? Is it a FTE job or contract job based on several layers to the end client? That should determine the outcome.

Also, what is your country of birth? If it is India, I would suggest you to go ahead and get Canadian PR without second thoughts, and keep it as back up. You would have 3 years to decide whether to move to Canada or not. You will learn how bad the immigration system is as you start working and see the backlog for Green card.

Indians have endless wait (20+ years at a minimum) to US Green Card (US PR basically). Unless there is a legislative reform, there is no way the wait will get fixed. Chinese have significant wait times too. If you are from any other part of the world (country of birth, not citizenship), then you can get your US PR several years down the line as there is no wait time.

Blueeyzz1310

Star Member
Apr 7, 2017