+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

International Student wanting to apply for PR - Options

Alderson

Dec 30, 2010
Hi,
I am an International student, who came here a year back to undergo my Engg Degree that I completed and got a work term with a company (part of the course to graduate). I will be graduating in April 2011, and my visa expires in Aug 2011.

I was wondering if anyone could help me with regard to my options of getting my PR or Work permit done. I know there is the graduation WP which I can apply after I graduate.

Also the company I am working for is a huge company, and I was wondering if I should ask for a LMO done through the company. ALso can I start my Pre approval for an LMO by myself?

Is there any other way that I can apply for my PR being here in Canada (inland application).

Really appreciate it.

Thanks...

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
Alderson said:
I was wondering if anyone could help me with regard to my options of getting my PR or Work permit done. I know there is the graduation WP which I can apply after I graduate.

As soon as you graduate, apply for your Post-graduate work permit (PGWP). Your PGWP will be no longer than your study program (1 1/2 years?) inclusive of the "work term." It is better than a TWP because you don't have to apply for the LMO, and because it is "open" (you can change employers if you want to). Later, when your PGWP is near expiration, your employer can apply for an LMO and at TWP.

Is there any other way that I can apply for my PR being here in Canada (inland application).