+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

I have a US conditional green card can I apply to canada as a refugee?

Jamil123

Sep 15, 2017
Hello
I am from Afghanistan.
I am currently a lawful conditional permanent resident in United States. I came to usa in a fiancé visa and i am married but things did not go well between my wife and me and we are separated.
My uncle lives in canada and he is a canadian citizen. I have no one in the USA.
And I can not go to my country too because of alot of stuff and i know if i go to Afghanistan my life is gonna be in danger. I want to join my uncle and live with him .. is there any way or do I have any chances to apply to canada as a refugee ????

Thank you

R

rish888

First off, you have posted in the wrong section. This is for Canadian Permanent Residents who are having Residency Obligation issues. To receive the best advice I would recommend posting your query in another section in the forum.

To answer your question in brief,

Canada and the United States have what they call a "Safe third country agreement." In short, this means that individuals in America can't claim refugee status in Canada and vice versa. However, this only applies for people seeking refugee status at land border crossings.

Because you hold a Green Card, you can enter by air. (subject to getting an ETA.) You may then seek refugee status at the airport. You will then be subject to a hearing which will decide if you shall receive refugee status or not. Should you be determined not to be a refugee, you will need to leave Canada.

You may alternatively visit Canada as a regular tourist via land. (On the force of your Green card.) You may then claim refugee status at an IRCC office inside Canada.