+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

How to enter Canadian retail industry?

algdantes

Star Member
Sep 7, 2016
Hi,

I'm a fairly young immigrant (22 years old) with less than five years of job experience on my resume. I'm quite sure I won't immediately get the same job I had back in the Philippines so I was just wondering if anybody working in retail has any tips for landing a job?

I have zero retail experience and I really just want a job that pays well and is semi-related to my field (I'm in marketing and advertising). How was your first Canadian job experience?

Thanks!

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
FYI - Retail doesn't really pay that well.

algdantes

Star Member
Sep 7, 2016
I know but I need to start somewhere :( I'm 22 and I just want a starting job that can help me go back to school. I moved here alone so I need a survival job to keep me afloat

algdantes

Star Member
Sep 7, 2016
My line of work back home was marketing and advertising - I was a writer/copywriter. I've had little success finding a job within that field, but I guess it's because I haven't been looking long enough.

next2015

Nov 18, 2014