+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Driving a U.S. Plated Car in Canada

links18

Champion Member
Feb 1, 2006
Hello all,

I just wanted to relay my experience driving a U.S. plated rental car into Canada as a landed permanent resident, as I know there is some confusion about this. I landed in February, but returned to the U.S. in preparation to move in September. I made a trip up to Canada last weekend via rental car to meet with a real estate agent. About an hour from the border, I remembered the issue of driving a U.S. car in Canada as a PR and thought there may be a problem crossing, so I called the border and asked. There response was that even though I am a landed permanent resident in Canada, I can still drive a U.S. plated car into the country as long as I have not "established a residence in Canada." In other words, if the answer to the question "Where do you live?" is still somewhere in the United States, you can drive a U.S. plated car in Canada. I subsequently arrived at the border and had no problems entering with the car. This is just my personal expeirence, but I thought others might benefit.

Thanks!

Reactions: canuckinla

jimberan

Mar 23, 2007
Thanks a lot for sharing that information and your experiences with the rest of us at the Canada Visa forum.

Sally2007

Jun 24, 2007
I can't find anything relating to driving a foreign plated car OTHER than a USA plated one. Here is my situation:
1) Canadian citizen
2) part time resident of Mexico, officially my residence is Canada
3) want to go to Canada for a few months, driving a Mexican plated car

- I know I have to insure it for driving through the USA and in Canada
- this car is registered in my husband's name but he won't be with me
- is there a time limit as to how long I can have the car with me in Canada? I am planning on being there for 2 or 3 months, then driving back to Mexico.