+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

co-op work term on PGWP counted as work experience

bijpa01

May 13, 2016
Hi,

I was an international student and currently on an open post graduation work permit. I was graduated in 2015 and started working as co-op student. So, my question is, my co-op experience earned while on an open work permit could be counted as work experience while applying for PR?

Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

thejkhan

Jun 5, 2016
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
bijpa01 said:
Hi,

I was an international student and currently on an open post graduation work permit. I was graduated in 2015 and started working as co-op student. So, my question is, my co-op experience earned while on an open work permit could be counted as work experience while applying for PR?

Thanks,
You are not supposed to work as a co-op student once you graduate. That means you lied to get the job and deprived another student of this opportunity. CIC will not like it.

bijpa01

May 13, 2016
Hi thejkhan,
My manager knows that i am graduated and even HR people.
So, please dont talk anything rubbish.
Advise if you know something.

Thanks,

softfuel12

Sep 26, 2012
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Toronto
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
14-08-2014
Doc's Request.
15-08-2014
AOR Received.
08-12-2014
Med's Request
02-02-2016
Med's Done....
29-02-2016
Passport Req..
04-03-2016
VISA ISSUED...
12-03-2016
LANDED..........
21-03-2016
bijpa01 said:
Hi,

Thanks,
I don't think thejkhan's intention was wrong. I have the same doubt. Co-op is basically the co-operative education provided by college/university which allows you to apply concepts learned in class during paid work terms. It's the part of the program. Once you graduate you are no more a co-op student.